2020 Summer Inservice Committee Minutes



## Committee: Curriculum Chair: Emily Fisher

**Committee Members Present:** Hannah Mamer, Zach Putzier, Jennifer Cummins, McKenna Ford, Trish Stokes, Josh Evans, Cami Shumann,

Non-Voting Members Present: Lucus Barnett, Dr. Jim Connors

Secretary: McKenna Ford Business:

Old:

- 1. Approval of Minutes moved by Cami Schumann, seconded by Trish Stokes. Motion passed.
- 2. Review of 2019 Action Items
  - a. Teacher Toolbox
    - i. Has the list of experts been updated and is that available to teachers?
    - ii. Teacher toolbox has not been updated
    - iii. Email needs to be sent to inform teachers that the toolbox is available to beginning teachers
  - b. SAE Committee
    - i. Create a sub committee and make a full SAE Committee by 2020
    - ii. What committee do state degrees full under
    - iii. There are committees for FFA relations and curriculum but no committee for SAE- Three Circle Model
    - iv. There would need to be a change to the by laws
    - v. Present the proposed change and vote at SLC
    - vi. Marc Beitia moved that we include a mentor committee and an SAE committee be added to the IATA bylaws- seconded
    - vii. Michelle moved to amend that the proposed changes be sent in an email by March 1st- seconded

Email/Share committee minutes to idahoagteachers@gmail.com by Wednesday, June 20th!

- viii. Amendment passes
- ix. New motion passes
  - 1. Email the motion out and the change of bylaws to the list serve and vote in twin falls
  - 2. Relieve space in other committees with increased membership
  - 3. Amy Nichols to write bylaws and communicate with Dr. Connors
  - 4. Special SAE committee has been made and is functioning this year. There has not been a vote taken to make this an official committee due to lack of meeting in Twin Falls. Does this stay a special committee or become an established committee?

New:

- 1. Emily Fisher will update the Idaho Division of CTE FFA Coordinator contact information and resource calendar in the Teacher Toolbox.
- 2. Discussion regarding that the curriculum committee be placed in charge of planning, organizing, and providing professional development events for ag teachers during October state teachers inservice starting with the 2020 school year.
  - a. It was moved and passed to refer this matter to the Professional Development Committee.
- 3. Discussion regarding IATA create a Middle School Curriculum sub-committee.
  - a. There has been a lot of progress made with the CTE office this year on getting CTE classes in the middle school. Our focus has been creating a CTE exploratory class in this first step. The next step is to start designing classes for each of the six CTE areas to be taught on the middle school level. IATA could be proactive in the design and structure of middle school ag classes, so when the time comes for the state to approve these classes and provide funding, Agriculture is ready to move forward.
    - It was moved and passed that Josh Evans creates a temporary sub-committee middle school curriculum development to develop a suggested list of standards and curriculum guides within the next year.
  - b. We recommend that IATA invite State CTE into a discussion about how to include middle school classes in state curriculum.

- **4**. Discussion regarding that we add a class into our curriculum and or to our state ISEE codes that would be Intro to Agriscience.
  - a. It would potentially be yearlong instead of the semester intro classes we currently have. We would not do away with any of those classes. This might fall more in line with something like the CASE curriculum courses or other similar curriculum.
    - i. We recommend to State CTE that they create an ISEE code for a more general Intro to Agriscience class in lieu of both AG 110: Intro to Ag Education and AG 120: Intro to Ag Industry.
- 5. Discussion regarding creating an Ag cluster pathway to make it easier for smaller schools to meet Perkins requirements.
  - a. It was discovered that a general pathway exists named Ag Leadership & Communications that would meet the general needs of cluster programs
  - b. Pathway sequence can be found on the State website when it is fully updated.
- 6. Elect 2020-2021 Chair
- 7. Cami Schumann nominates Trish Stokes. Trish Stokes accepts. Motion Passes.
- 2020-2021 Chair: Trish Stokes